La Cloche Clay Baker - Round reviews

Global Rating: 4.68 from 19 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2
rating title date name city state/province country
Sassafras Customer Service came through... (4/5) Apr 22, 2012 Mary
  After a 'misunderstanding' with Sassafras I wrote a 'review' that was not complimentary.
They immediately contacted me and replaced the broken 'dome' and shipped it out at no charge.
They stood behind their product.
Now, I can get back to baking the best bread in the world with the La Cloche!
No shipping problems! (5/5) May 12, 2010 Anonymous CA
  I just got the round and oblong bakers in the mail today, about a week and a half after ordering it online. I was worried about the shipping, whether they would arrive in pieces like the horror stories I'd read online, but I couldn't believe the care that went into packaging! The bakers were in their boxes from the company, with average to adequate padding, but then both boxes were in a large brown box, with so many packing peanuts and paper and air bags that I'd be surprised if the boxes even felt a jolt during the trip! They arrived without a scratch. I would definitely order from Breadtopia again; they have gained my unqualified trust!
2 year review (5/5) Nov 22, 2013 Joe Ferri Belleville Il US
  Jan. 2012 I began baking artisan bread 2-3 times per week with LaCloche which has never disappointed us with anything less than excellent results. I put it on the middle rack in a cold oven and allow the temp to come up to 375F, set the countdown timer to 65 minutes, and let it do what it does best until the timer rings. I find the best time to place it in the oven is when the dough has expanded to fill the entire bottom of the base. That tells me the dough is ready to give a full spring. After removing the bread I am careful to place LaCloche back in the oven and allow it to cool down with the oven off. The unit has never been rinsed or washed. My only regret is that we often skip dinner and just eat warm bread.
Update - First Use: Amazing Results!!! (5/5) Nov 2, 2013 Patti Johnson Lawrence KS US
  Update to my review from 10/31/2013: I have now used this awesome baker for the first time and the results were GLORIOUS! BEST. LOAF.YET. We had fried ham sandwiches for breakfast this morning using this loaf (which I made last night)! DELICIOUS! I grilled my bread in my cast iron skillet (after I was done frying up the ham) and WOW! So good! Can't wait to make grilled cheese sandwiches!

I just used the baker right out of the box. I did sprinkle a bit of flour in the preheated bottom before I transferred my dough to it. But, I don't think I'll even do that next time. No sticking problems at all (which was a BIG RELIEF!).

VERY HAPPY NOVICE BREAD BAKER am I!

I highly recommend this baker. It's worth the investment! Now, I just have to save some money up for one of those oblong bakers. :)
It Works! (5/5) Oct 31, 2013 Chris Chester Lebanon TN US
  I have baked 2 loaves...so far..using La Cloche. Great results. No more spritzing..or pouring water in a broiler pan to make steam. This WORKS! So easy...even a caveman...like me...can do it!
Git ya one!
Love at first sight! (5/5) Oct 31, 2013 Patti Johnson Lawrence Ka US
  I ordered my La Cloche Clay Baker (Round) via Breadtopia during the very early morning hours of 10/30/2013. I just received it today (IN PERFECT CONDITION!), 10/31/2013. It's mighty nice to live so close to Iowa! :)

Quick Question/Verification: I'm assuming that my interpretation and understanding that the use of this baker as strictly a bread baking vessel using ONLY the "preheated" method for use requires absolutely no preliminary seasoning of the baker at all, correct? (Regardless of what the manufacturer instruction/recipe booklet may indicate.)

I will update my review after I've baked my first loaf of bread in this beautiful baker!

I'm just so darned excited that I got it so quickly and in perfect condition (the packaging was excellent)!

Thanks, Breadtopia!
Impressive Packing and Performance (5/5) Sep 14, 2013 Norm Breitner West Boothbay Harbor ME US
  I'd read the packing horror stories from other sites; I was reassured by this site's directly addressing that issue - and ordered the cloche. The manufacturer's boxing was really good - and the Breadtopia packing was REALLY good. So - it arrived in the correct number of pieces.

The baking. I ruined my oven in the past trying to do steam. Broken glass, steamed electronic controls - the whole sad story. After one run with the cloche, I'm happy, the oven's relieved and the bread looks great. Wish I'd known about this 20 years back.
Impressed with packing (5/5) Jun 15, 2013 Don Martin Hendersonville NC US
  Received my La Cloche today and have not used it yet but this review is about how it came packed. I have read horror storied about La Cloche bakers coming broken on other sites and forums that sell them, this baker was not only packed by Breadtopia so it in no way could move around in the shipping box but the factory packing was so tight that there was no way this was going to get damaged. Kudos to both the Mfg. and also Breadtopia.
Will bake bread either tomorrow or Monday and write a review about how it bakes.
Just Incredible (5/5) Feb 20, 2013 Barbara Canyon Country Ca US
  Got this as a birthday gift. Took it out of the box and immediately made a loaf. I've been baking bread for many years but my biggest complaint was not being able to get a crispy crust. Well, this clay baker solved the problem. My bread had a beautiful golden crust. In fact, I could hear soft crackling as the loaf cooled. Don't hesitate, you won't be sorry. As soon as the rectangular one is back in stock I am going to get that one also. I am one happy baker.
LaCloche-Round (5/5) Feb 11, 2012 Neal Inman SC US
  ordered monday - received thursday and baked bread friday. Best results ever!

Back to previous page

1 2