La Cloche Clay Baker - Round reviews

Global Rating: 4.68 from 19 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2
rating title date name city state/province country
Great little clay oven (5/5) Jun 5, 2010 Joan Horne Elysburg PA US
  People don't believe I baked the loaves that I've made using this and the oblong clay baker. They are wonderful; you can't make a mistake if you use these. I look forward to seeing each loaf that comes out because each one is truly unique and a work of art. It's always a pleasant surprise to see the finished product. I don't think I got a recipe book with mine, but the recipe I use works fine, and I really enjoy baking with these wonderful little ovens.
Bottom Cracked within the first 3 months use. (2/5) Jan 5, 2012 Jeff Cloverdale Ca US
  We've been using the no kneed bread method for over a year now. The bottom of the clay baker broke some time within the first 3 months of using it. It works very well when not broken. We went on using it with the two broken bottom parts unitl the dome cracked too.
Just Incredible (5/5) Feb 20, 2013 Barbara Canyon Country Ca US
  Got this as a birthday gift. Took it out of the box and immediately made a loaf. I've been baking bread for many years but my biggest complaint was not being able to get a crispy crust. Well, this clay baker solved the problem. My bread had a beautiful golden crust. In fact, I could hear soft crackling as the loaf cooled. Don't hesitate, you won't be sorry. As soon as the rectangular one is back in stock I am going to get that one also. I am one happy baker.
best thing that ever happened to my bread (5/5) May 9, 2011 JJ BEcker BOS MA US
  Works perfectly, buy it. See how trivial it is to make bread that is better than you can buy.

I'm not kidding! I've been making bread for 30 years, and the crust, crumb etc were always good, but never perfect. Now my lame GE oven is working like a steam oven.

Do NOT delay, buy this thing.
2 year review (5/5) Nov 22, 2013 Joe Ferri Belleville Il US
  Jan. 2012 I began baking artisan bread 2-3 times per week with LaCloche which has never disappointed us with anything less than excellent results. I put it on the middle rack in a cold oven and allow the temp to come up to 375F, set the countdown timer to 65 minutes, and let it do what it does best until the timer rings. I find the best time to place it in the oven is when the dough has expanded to fill the entire bottom of the base. That tells me the dough is ready to give a full spring. After removing the bread I am careful to place LaCloche back in the oven and allow it to cool down with the oven off. The unit has never been rinsed or washed. My only regret is that we often skip dinner and just eat warm bread.
Awesome it doesn't get any better than this! (5/5) Jan 6, 2012 Joe Ferri Belleville Il US
  The La Cloche arrived today. I read the reviews before purchasing and paid particular attention to the comments about seasoning of the stoneware since one of my pizza stones cracked about 3 years ago. After that happened I found that by coating the pizza stone with peanut oil it will turn a dark brown not quite as dark as a cast iron skillet, but nothing sticks, and the peanut oil can take high heat without smoking up the house. Without the seasoning the stones get dark blotches and look unsightly especially with a crack running through it. So I made two loaves tonight after coating the stone and heating it up to 350 and then cooling down to room temp. First sourdough loaf was placed in the La Cloche (French for bell) cold. The oven was set to 375 and I baked the bread for an hour after the set temperature was reached. Perfect crisp thin crust with golden color and wonderful springy crumb. The second loaf was placed into the hot stoneware, covered immediately and placed back into the same 375 oven for 1 hour. I'm jumping for joy because the bread rose to fill the entire dome, same results as the first loaf only better. I've had a passion for the perfect bread for the past 15 years and it doesn't get any better than this.
Sassafras Customer Service came through... (4/5) Apr 22, 2012 Mary
  After a 'misunderstanding' with Sassafras I wrote a 'review' that was not complimentary.
They immediately contacted me and replaced the broken 'dome' and shipped it out at no charge.
They stood behind their product.
Now, I can get back to baking the best bread in the world with the La Cloche!
Love it (5/5) Feb 7, 2012 Grace No US
  It's hard to believe how good my bread looked every time I opened the la cloche in the oven. Excellent packaging and fast shipping. Eric responded my inquiry super fast. Love this website. Will purchase from it again and again.
No shipping problems! (5/5) May 12, 2010 Anonymous CA
  I just got the round and oblong bakers in the mail today, about a week and a half after ordering it online. I was worried about the shipping, whether they would arrive in pieces like the horror stories I'd read online, but I couldn't believe the care that went into packaging! The bakers were in their boxes from the company, with average to adequate padding, but then both boxes were in a large brown box, with so many packing peanuts and paper and air bags that I'd be surprised if the boxes even felt a jolt during the trip! They arrived without a scratch. I would definitely order from Breadtopia again; they have gained my unqualified trust!

Back to previous page

1 2