La Cloche Clay Baker - Round reviews

Global Rating: 4.70 from 20 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2
rating title date name city state/province country
2 year review (5/5) Nov 22, 2013 Joe Ferri Belleville Il US
  Jan. 2012 I began baking artisan bread 2-3 times per week with LaCloche which has never disappointed us with anything less than excellent results. I put it on the middle rack in a cold oven and allow the temp to come up to 375F, set the countdown timer to 65 minutes, and let it do what it does best until the timer rings. I find the best time to place it in the oven is when the dough has expanded to fill the entire bottom of the base. That tells me the dough is ready to give a full spring. After removing the bread I am careful to place LaCloche back in the oven and allow it to cool down with the oven off. The unit has never been rinsed or washed. My only regret is that we often skip dinner and just eat warm bread.
Awesome it doesn't get any better than this! (5/5) Jan 6, 2012 Joe Ferri Belleville Il US
  The La Cloche arrived today. I read the reviews before purchasing and paid particular attention to the comments about seasoning of the stoneware since one of my pizza stones cracked about 3 years ago. After that happened I found that by coating the pizza stone with peanut oil it will turn a dark brown not quite as dark as a cast iron skillet, but nothing sticks, and the peanut oil can take high heat without smoking up the house. Without the seasoning the stones get dark blotches and look unsightly especially with a crack running through it. So I made two loaves tonight after coating the stone and heating it up to 350 and then cooling down to room temp. First sourdough loaf was placed in the La Cloche (French for bell) cold. The oven was set to 375 and I baked the bread for an hour after the set temperature was reached. Perfect crisp thin crust with golden color and wonderful springy crumb. The second loaf was placed into the hot stoneware, covered immediately and placed back into the same 375 oven for 1 hour. I'm jumping for joy because the bread rose to fill the entire dome, same results as the first loaf only better. I've had a passion for the perfect bread for the past 15 years and it doesn't get any better than this.
Best bread I ever made. (5/5) Dec 19, 2009 Karen Jagielski Washington DC US
  I received this yesterday and immediately made one of the bread recipes that came with the product. I never knew I could bake bread in my home oven with a perfect crust and moist inside. I don't know if I can ever bake with regular bread pans again!
THANK YOU very much (5/5) Nov 30, 2009 Larry K Lincoln NE US
  Eric, I just wanted to drop you a line and say THANK YOU very much. I
received my purchase on Friday. I have only been baking bread earnestly for
about a year and a half now. I have purchased books read articles, hunted
the internet for any info that would help me to make a decent loaf of bread.

I was resigned to using cake pans filled with water at the bottom of my
oven, having to religiously open the oven and spray my loaf, only to find
that I didn't really get the crust I was looking for, and holes, well I had
pretty much given up on being able to produce a decent hole. It got to the
point, that if I got a hole as big as a broken pencil tip that I was doing
great. But then I came across your website, I viewed your FREE let me say
that again (FREE) video and that's when I ordered the clay bakeware.

I want to say that after my first loaf using your no knead recipe and clay bakeware
that I got an amazing loaf of ARTISAN bread. And the holes, they're huge.
Again, thank-you for your online video and products. I will be purchasing
from you again, and I will be glad to let others know of your site.

With all sincerity, Larry K.
Sassafras Customer Service came through... (4/5) Apr 22, 2012 Mary
  After a 'misunderstanding' with Sassafras I wrote a 'review' that was not complimentary.
They immediately contacted me and replaced the broken 'dome' and shipped it out at no charge.
They stood behind their product.
Now, I can get back to baking the best bread in the world with the La Cloche!
Best invention since fire (5/5) Jan 1, 2010 Nancy Parsons Philomath OR US
  The La Cloche has transformed our lives - we now live for the next opportunity to bake bread! Truly a work of genius, the La Cloche is so good it's tempting to say that every bread baker has to have one. Which isn't true, but once you've used it, you'll never look back. I no longer even remember how to bake without it.
LaCloche-Round (5/5) Feb 11, 2012 Neal Inman SC US
  ordered monday - received thursday and baked bread friday. Best results ever!
Impressive Packing and Performance (5/5) Sep 14, 2013 Norm Breitner West Boothbay Harbor ME US
  I'd read the packing horror stories from other sites; I was reassured by this site's directly addressing that issue - and ordered the cloche. The manufacturer's boxing was really good - and the Breadtopia packing was REALLY good. So - it arrived in the correct number of pieces.

The baking. I ruined my oven in the past trying to do steam. Broken glass, steamed electronic controls - the whole sad story. After one run with the cloche, I'm happy, the oven's relieved and the bread looks great. Wish I'd known about this 20 years back.
Update - First Use: Amazing Results!!! (5/5) Nov 2, 2013 Patti Johnson Lawrence KS US
  Update to my review from 10/31/2013: I have now used this awesome baker for the first time and the results were GLORIOUS! BEST. LOAF.YET. We had fried ham sandwiches for breakfast this morning using this loaf (which I made last night)! DELICIOUS! I grilled my bread in my cast iron skillet (after I was done frying up the ham) and WOW! So good! Can't wait to make grilled cheese sandwiches!

I just used the baker right out of the box. I did sprinkle a bit of flour in the preheated bottom before I transferred my dough to it. But, I don't think I'll even do that next time. No sticking problems at all (which was a BIG RELIEF!).

VERY HAPPY NOVICE BREAD BAKER am I!

I highly recommend this baker. It's worth the investment! Now, I just have to save some money up for one of those oblong bakers. :)
Love at first sight! (5/5) Oct 31, 2013 Patti Johnson Lawrence Ka US
  I ordered my La Cloche Clay Baker (Round) via Breadtopia during the very early morning hours of 10/30/2013. I just received it today (IN PERFECT CONDITION!), 10/31/2013. It's mighty nice to live so close to Iowa! :)

Quick Question/Verification: I'm assuming that my interpretation and understanding that the use of this baker as strictly a bread baking vessel using ONLY the "preheated" method for use requires absolutely no preliminary seasoning of the baker at all, correct? (Regardless of what the manufacturer instruction/recipe booklet may indicate.)

I will update my review after I've baked my first loaf of bread in this beautiful baker!

I'm just so darned excited that I got it so quickly and in perfect condition (the packaging was excellent)!

Thanks, Breadtopia!

Back to previous page

1 2