La Cloche Clay Baker - Round reviews

Global Rating: 4.68 from 19 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2
rating title date name city state/province country
Just Incredible (5/5) Feb 20, 2013 Barbara Canyon Country Ca US
  Got this as a birthday gift. Took it out of the box and immediately made a loaf. I've been baking bread for many years but my biggest complaint was not being able to get a crispy crust. Well, this clay baker solved the problem. My bread had a beautiful golden crust. In fact, I could hear soft crackling as the loaf cooled. Don't hesitate, you won't be sorry. As soon as the rectangular one is back in stock I am going to get that one also. I am one happy baker.
LaCloche-Round (5/5) Feb 11, 2012 Neal Inman SC US
  ordered monday - received thursday and baked bread friday. Best results ever!
Love at first sight! (5/5) Oct 31, 2013 Patti Johnson Lawrence Ka US
  I ordered my La Cloche Clay Baker (Round) via Breadtopia during the very early morning hours of 10/30/2013. I just received it today (IN PERFECT CONDITION!), 10/31/2013. It's mighty nice to live so close to Iowa! :)

Quick Question/Verification: I'm assuming that my interpretation and understanding that the use of this baker as strictly a bread baking vessel using ONLY the "preheated" method for use requires absolutely no preliminary seasoning of the baker at all, correct? (Regardless of what the manufacturer instruction/recipe booklet may indicate.)

I will update my review after I've baked my first loaf of bread in this beautiful baker!

I'm just so darned excited that I got it so quickly and in perfect condition (the packaging was excellent)!

Thanks, Breadtopia!
Love it (5/5) Feb 7, 2012 Grace No US
  It's hard to believe how good my bread looked every time I opened the la cloche in the oven. Excellent packaging and fast shipping. Eric responded my inquiry super fast. Love this website. Will purchase from it again and again.
No shipping problems! (5/5) May 12, 2010 Anonymous CA
  I just got the round and oblong bakers in the mail today, about a week and a half after ordering it online. I was worried about the shipping, whether they would arrive in pieces like the horror stories I'd read online, but I couldn't believe the care that went into packaging! The bakers were in their boxes from the company, with average to adequate padding, but then both boxes were in a large brown box, with so many packing peanuts and paper and air bags that I'd be surprised if the boxes even felt a jolt during the trip! They arrived without a scratch. I would definitely order from Breadtopia again; they have gained my unqualified trust!
Sassafras Customer Service came through... (4/5) Apr 22, 2012 Mary
  After a 'misunderstanding' with Sassafras I wrote a 'review' that was not complimentary.
They immediately contacted me and replaced the broken 'dome' and shipped it out at no charge.
They stood behind their product.
Now, I can get back to baking the best bread in the world with the La Cloche!
THANK YOU very much (5/5) Nov 30, 2009 Larry K Lincoln NE US
  Eric, I just wanted to drop you a line and say THANK YOU very much. I
received my purchase on Friday. I have only been baking bread earnestly for
about a year and a half now. I have purchased books read articles, hunted
the internet for any info that would help me to make a decent loaf of bread.

I was resigned to using cake pans filled with water at the bottom of my
oven, having to religiously open the oven and spray my loaf, only to find
that I didn't really get the crust I was looking for, and holes, well I had
pretty much given up on being able to produce a decent hole. It got to the
point, that if I got a hole as big as a broken pencil tip that I was doing
great. But then I came across your website, I viewed your FREE let me say
that again (FREE) video and that's when I ordered the clay bakeware.

I want to say that after my first loaf using your no knead recipe and clay bakeware
that I got an amazing loaf of ARTISAN bread. And the holes, they're huge.
Again, thank-you for your online video and products. I will be purchasing
from you again, and I will be glad to let others know of your site.

With all sincerity, Larry K.
Update - First Use: Amazing Results!!! (5/5) Nov 2, 2013 Patti Johnson Lawrence KS US
  Update to my review from 10/31/2013: I have now used this awesome baker for the first time and the results were GLORIOUS! BEST. LOAF.YET. We had fried ham sandwiches for breakfast this morning using this loaf (which I made last night)! DELICIOUS! I grilled my bread in my cast iron skillet (after I was done frying up the ham) and WOW! So good! Can't wait to make grilled cheese sandwiches!

I just used the baker right out of the box. I did sprinkle a bit of flour in the preheated bottom before I transferred my dough to it. But, I don't think I'll even do that next time. No sticking problems at all (which was a BIG RELIEF!).

VERY HAPPY NOVICE BREAD BAKER am I!

I highly recommend this baker. It's worth the investment! Now, I just have to save some money up for one of those oblong bakers. :)
worked, then cracked (3/5) Jun 15, 2011 Bill Schell Warren NJ US
  Definitely improved the crust of my breads. However, after a year of baking once a week, the bottom developed a crack which steadily lengthened until it was about to crack apart. It was never dropped.

Back to previous page

1 2