La Cloche Clay Baker - Round reviews

Global Rating: 4.68 from 19 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2
rating title date name city state/province country
Impressive Packing and Performance (5/5) Sep 14, 2013 Norm Breitner West Boothbay Harbor ME US
  I'd read the packing horror stories from other sites; I was reassured by this site's directly addressing that issue - and ordered the cloche. The manufacturer's boxing was really good - and the Breadtopia packing was REALLY good. So - it arrived in the correct number of pieces.

The baking. I ruined my oven in the past trying to do steam. Broken glass, steamed electronic controls - the whole sad story. After one run with the cloche, I'm happy, the oven's relieved and the bread looks great. Wish I'd known about this 20 years back.
Impressed with packing (5/5) Jun 15, 2013 Don Martin Hendersonville NC US
  Received my La Cloche today and have not used it yet but this review is about how it came packed. I have read horror storied about La Cloche bakers coming broken on other sites and forums that sell them, this baker was not only packed by Breadtopia so it in no way could move around in the shipping box but the factory packing was so tight that there was no way this was going to get damaged. Kudos to both the Mfg. and also Breadtopia.
Will bake bread either tomorrow or Monday and write a review about how it bakes.
Great little clay oven (5/5) Jun 5, 2010 Joan Horne Elysburg PA US
  People don't believe I baked the loaves that I've made using this and the oblong clay baker. They are wonderful; you can't make a mistake if you use these. I look forward to seeing each loaf that comes out because each one is truly unique and a work of art. It's always a pleasant surprise to see the finished product. I don't think I got a recipe book with mine, but the recipe I use works fine, and I really enjoy baking with these wonderful little ovens.
Bottom Cracked within the first 3 months use. (2/5) Jan 5, 2012 Jeff Cloverdale Ca US
  We've been using the no kneed bread method for over a year now. The bottom of the clay baker broke some time within the first 3 months of using it. It works very well when not broken. We went on using it with the two broken bottom parts unitl the dome cracked too.
best thing that ever happened to my bread (5/5) May 9, 2011 JJ BEcker BOS MA US
  Works perfectly, buy it. See how trivial it is to make bread that is better than you can buy.

I'm not kidding! I've been making bread for 30 years, and the crust, crumb etc were always good, but never perfect. Now my lame GE oven is working like a steam oven.

Do NOT delay, buy this thing.
Best invention since fire (5/5) Jan 1, 2010 Nancy Parsons Philomath OR US
  The La Cloche has transformed our lives - we now live for the next opportunity to bake bread! Truly a work of genius, the La Cloche is so good it's tempting to say that every bread baker has to have one. Which isn't true, but once you've used it, you'll never look back. I no longer even remember how to bake without it.
Best bread I ever made. (5/5) Dec 19, 2009 Karen Jagielski Washington DC US
  I received this yesterday and immediately made one of the bread recipes that came with the product. I never knew I could bake bread in my home oven with a perfect crust and moist inside. I don't know if I can ever bake with regular bread pans again!
Awesome it doesn't get any better than this! (5/5) Jan 6, 2012 Joe Ferri Belleville Il US
  The La Cloche arrived today. I read the reviews before purchasing and paid particular attention to the comments about seasoning of the stoneware since one of my pizza stones cracked about 3 years ago. After that happened I found that by coating the pizza stone with peanut oil it will turn a dark brown not quite as dark as a cast iron skillet, but nothing sticks, and the peanut oil can take high heat without smoking up the house. Without the seasoning the stones get dark blotches and look unsightly especially with a crack running through it. So I made two loaves tonight after coating the stone and heating it up to 350 and then cooling down to room temp. First sourdough loaf was placed in the La Cloche (French for bell) cold. The oven was set to 375 and I baked the bread for an hour after the set temperature was reached. Perfect crisp thin crust with golden color and wonderful springy crumb. The second loaf was placed into the hot stoneware, covered immediately and placed back into the same 375 oven for 1 hour. I'm jumping for joy because the bread rose to fill the entire dome, same results as the first loaf only better. I've had a passion for the perfect bread for the past 15 years and it doesn't get any better than this.
2 year review (5/5) Nov 22, 2013 Joe Ferri Belleville Il US
  Jan. 2012 I began baking artisan bread 2-3 times per week with LaCloche which has never disappointed us with anything less than excellent results. I put it on the middle rack in a cold oven and allow the temp to come up to 375F, set the countdown timer to 65 minutes, and let it do what it does best until the timer rings. I find the best time to place it in the oven is when the dough has expanded to fill the entire bottom of the base. That tells me the dough is ready to give a full spring. After removing the bread I am careful to place LaCloche back in the oven and allow it to cool down with the oven off. The unit has never been rinsed or washed. My only regret is that we often skip dinner and just eat warm bread.

Back to previous page

1 2