La Cloche Clay Baker - Oblong reviews

Global Rating: 4.93 from 15 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2
rating title date name city state/province country
Does the job (4/5) May 26, 2014 Connie Bellingham WA US
  I purchased this oblong La Cloche to complement my round one after reading that they both fit in the oven at the same time. True and both make fantastic bread!!! My only difficulty with the oblong is transferring dough from an oblong brotform - it wants to fall on the side but I think this is user error, not an intrinsic problem with the clay baker. Truly, bread is elevated when baked in these bakers so do yourself a favor and buy one or two!
Fantastic (5/5) Nov 3, 2013 Nancy McCann Cornelius Or US
  I purchased from Breadtopia (best price) 6+ months ago and love it. I bake several loafs of sourdough each week. The recipe I use is NOT a KN recipe but a recipe of starter, water, salt and flour. It is kneaded and put into baker to rise and then bake. The loaf is big, beautiful and a crackling crust. Pure perfection!
Oblong Baker (5/5) Sep 22, 2013 Rich Robbin Lorain Oh US
  I have used all shapes and sizes of vessels to bake my breads... and of course, not as happy as I
was after the first time I used the LaCloche I purchased from Breadtopia. Even got a friend to buy
one. The bread bakes perfectly and looks better than any grocery store bakery bread!
A must if you like bread (5/5) Feb 7, 2012 Grace No US
  I own both the round la cloche and the oblong la cloche. They make the most incredible bread. Don't hesitate to buy both. I like the fact that they both fit in the oven together so I can bake two loaves at the same time. Great for having company over as people couldn't stop eating the yummy bread. Again, excellent packaging and fast shipping. Thanks, Eric.
Buy this! (5/5) Feb 5, 2012 Linda Westerschulte Los Angeles CA US
  Outstanding. No need to even season the pan. I immediately tried Cooks Illustrated's Almost No-knead Bread. I always wanted to make this bread in an oblong shape instead of the circle shape of my enameled cast iron Dutch Oven. In the La Cloche baker I got my beautiful long loaf. It rose magnificently (better than in my cast iron pot) and the crust was perfect: toasty brown, shattering deliciously in the mouth, and so much of it! I think this is the best country loaf I've baked in my life, and I've been at it for forty years.

I suppose the way the clay cloche concentrates the heat is the secret. I did not think it was possible to get these results at home. Next: sourdough. I can't wait.
Perfect (5/5) Sep 9, 2011 Jason Thompson Pawtucket RI US
  I have been looking for a new 'dutch oven' style baker for no-knead bread and the the Oblong baker perfect for this type of bread baking. Additionally, customer service is outstanding. I had to place my order over the phone and Eric was friendly and helpful.
Buy it now! (5/5) May 9, 2011 JJ BEcker Boston MA US
  Works perfectly, buy it. See how trivial it is to make bread that is better than you can buy.

I'm not kidding! I've been making bread for 30 years, and the crust, crumb etc were always good, but never perfect. Now my lame GE oven is working like a steam oven.

Do NOT delay, buy this thing.
The perfect crust (5/5) Jan 11, 2011 Esther G. Far Rockaway Ne US
  The breads are SO crusty and so delicous! I have been baking bread for almost 40 years, and have never been able to produce a loaf as crusty as the breads that come out of this clay baker. A wonderful investment.
Very nice (5/5) Oct 7, 2010 Robert Atlanta GA US
  This thing is amazing. Nice crispy crust and soft crumb. You can bake all kinds of things in it besides bread too. Breadtopia also has excellent customer service. It arrived broken (bottom had a crack, top was in several pieces), but I was quickly sent a replacement after making a phone call.
Love my La Cloche (5/5) Sep 28, 2010 David Daniel Nampa Id US
  The La Cloche works great! It makes it really easy to adjust the crispyness of the crust. No clean up required, just brush out any crumbs. It is a lot easier than free forming. You end up with a nice sized loaf for sandwiches.

Back to previous page

1 2