Sourdough Starter - Live reviews

Global Rating: 5.00 from 15 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2
rating title date name city state/province country
YEP, GREAT STUFF! (5/5) Mar 11, 2013 tanya springfield va US
  tried several times unsuccessfully over 35 years to make my own starter and tried once with a dried powder from san francisco. this live starter is the way to go for easy, easy sourdough baking. i think it was ready to use within the first 24 hours, tho i waited 3 days. bread: soft crumb, chewy crust--and EXACTLY the taste and aroma of the bread i remember on the wharf in san francisco. i dried the goo stuck to the little plastic bag it arrived in and put it in the freezer--betcha if i ever need it, it will revive! and if not, i know where to find his brother--or is that the rest of himself? h-m-m.
_________It's Alive!_________ (5/5) Apr 10, 2011 Teresa Shingle Springs CA US
  I purchased this from Breadtopia and it arrived quickly. It looks smushed but I carefully squeezed the thick sour smelling dough out and followed the directions on the package. Day 3: it is so clear to see, that this dough is alive.... bubbly and clearly on a path to becoming delicious bread, pizza dough and other delicious things in the future.

I think this dough is much better than the dried granular starter that is offered at stores and online. I would recommend this product to friends and family. Making sourdough starter is easy. I am looking forward to becoming a really good bread baker AND serving fresh from the oven - warm bread topped with real butter ---- to my family and friends.

OVERALL RATING of seller and product: A+
Fantastic starter (5/5) Dec 4, 2011 Erika naegelin San antonio Tx US
  I bought this and then went on vacation, stored in the fridge while I was out. I returned and started the process of feeding. Less than 24 hours after my first feeding it was already bubbling. I can't wait to make me some bread!
100% great product (5/5) Nov 25, 2013 linda James Salt spring Island BC CA
  I agree with everyone. Great live starter & is ready to use much sooner than the dried starter I bought elsewhere. I am in Canada so wasn't sure how well it would do shipping this far but it was up & running in a few hours. Thanks so much for great product!
The best! (5/5) Aug 9, 2014 Trish Port Orchard Wa US
  I received your fresh starter a week or two ago and after feeding it a few times I've been baking the best sourdough bread I ever have. My husband told me last night "this is the best bread you've ever made! " I totally agree! It already has a decent sour taste and the oven spring is very good. I wish I could figure out how to include a photo since I've just taken a beautiful boule out of the oven! Thank You!
Live is the way to go! (5/5) Apr 4, 2011 Charles Wilson Newington CT US
  Being overly cautious, I bought this live starter, and a dry starter from elsewhere. Continuing to be overly cautious, I used only half of the live starter to build up both a white and whole wheat "mother". Within less than a week both batches were quite vigorous. (No longer needing to keep the other half of the original live starter, I threw caution into the wind and discarded it.)

The dry yeast, from elsewhere, took almost a week to show any signs of life. After more than two weeks, it became usable in recipes, and only after three weeks did it become vigorous.

Live yeast will get you up and running much sooner!
It's spreading ! (5/5) May 10, 2011 Dick Minor Newberg OR US
  "Congratulations ***. Dick is really the one who started this bread making frenzy and order the first portion of starter. My kids are making it, I'm making it, and now we have it spreading to California. Great."

This is note from my brother to a CA cousin. This starter is really moving around the country !

Fantastic (5/5) Feb 7, 2014 Monika Minneapolis Mn US
  I have received my started on Monday and baked my first bread this morning. The results were great! Thank you so much.
The Smarter Starter! (5/5) Feb 3, 2012 Hoobie Iowa City IA US
  Wonderful livliness. I had bubbling starter a few hours after the first feeding. If you want to get started baking quickly, this is a great choice.

One hint: Instead of trying to spoon the starter out, I just ripped the little ziplock bag open at the seams, pealed the starter off the plastic - it's sticky enough to stay together in 1 piece - and dropped it in my starter jar. Voila.
Excellent..! (5/5) Mar 28, 2011 Tom Y huntsville al US
  My first try at sourdough, and within 2 weeks, I've made excellent sourdough bread with your starter. Just wish I could be available during the week to make more without tossing out some of the excess starter...seems such a waste for such good basis..! And even using the no-knead process..WOW! Seems like I'm cheating, but won't tell the wife 'n kids, until I can convince them to take over the duty! Thanks Eric for your work and videos - makes it really easy!
Best, Tom.

Back to previous page

1 2