Sourdough Starter - Live reviews

Global Rating: 5.00 from 13 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2
rating title date name city state/province country
Excellent..! (5/5) Mar 28, 2011 Tom Y huntsville al US
  My first try at sourdough, and within 2 weeks, I've made excellent sourdough bread with your starter. Just wish I could be available during the week to make more without tossing out some of the excess starter...seems such a waste for such good basis..! And even using the no-knead process..WOW! Seems like I'm cheating, but won't tell the wife 'n kids, until I can convince them to take over the duty! Thanks Eric for your work and videos - makes it really easy!
Best, Tom.
_________It's Alive!_________ (5/5) Apr 10, 2011 Teresa Shingle Springs CA US
  I purchased this from Breadtopia and it arrived quickly. It looks smushed but I carefully squeezed the thick sour smelling dough out and followed the directions on the package. Day 3: it is so clear to see, that this dough is alive.... bubbly and clearly on a path to becoming delicious bread, pizza dough and other delicious things in the future.

I think this dough is much better than the dried granular starter that is offered at stores and online. I would recommend this product to friends and family. Making sourdough starter is easy. I am looking forward to becoming a really good bread baker AND serving fresh from the oven - warm bread topped with real butter ---- to my family and friends.

OVERALL RATING of seller and product: A+
YEP, GREAT STUFF! (5/5) Mar 11, 2013 tanya springfield va US
  tried several times unsuccessfully over 35 years to make my own starter and tried once with a dried powder from san francisco. this live starter is the way to go for easy, easy sourdough baking. i think it was ready to use within the first 24 hours, tho i waited 3 days. bread: soft crumb, chewy crust--and EXACTLY the taste and aroma of the bread i remember on the wharf in san francisco. i dried the goo stuck to the little plastic bag it arrived in and put it in the freezer--betcha if i ever need it, it will revive! and if not, i know where to find his brother--or is that the rest of himself? h-m-m.
Very Happy (5/5) Jan 17, 2011 Tamara Robson Elgin SC US
  Thank you for making this starter available. I received it about 2 weeks ago and it came to life almost immediately. I am now making the best bread I've ever tasted thanks to Breadtopia (videos), the sourdough starter and my Romertopf. I've not worked with sourdough much before because I never had the kind of success I was looking for. Now I am having amazing success!
Alive and Vigorous (5/5) Jul 3, 2011 Robert Ryan Columbus Oh US
  I was absolutely amazed by how vigorous this starter is. I fed it the evening that I received it using the provided instructions. After 24 hours, the starter was beautifully foamy and had the wonderful aroma I have come to expect from a great starter. It is so alive that it nearly doubled on its third feeding, for which I used equal weights of water and bread flour. Two more feedings, and I will bake bread!

I usually make my own starter, but when we moved to our current property, my starter was destroyed in the move. Buying live starter was a great way to get up and baking again quickly.
Fantastic (5/5) Feb 7, 2014 Monika Minneapolis Mn US
  I have received my started on Monday and baked my first bread this morning. The results were great! Thank you so much.
100% great product (5/5) Nov 25, 2013 linda James Salt spring Island BC CA
  I agree with everyone. Great live starter & is ready to use much sooner than the dried starter I bought elsewhere. I am in Canada so wasn't sure how well it would do shipping this far but it was up & running in a few hours. Thanks so much for great product!
The Smarter Starter! (5/5) Feb 3, 2012 Hoobie Iowa City IA US
  Wonderful livliness. I had bubbling starter a few hours after the first feeding. If you want to get started baking quickly, this is a great choice.

One hint: Instead of trying to spoon the starter out, I just ripped the little ziplock bag open at the seams, pealed the starter off the plastic - it's sticky enough to stay together in 1 piece - and dropped it in my starter jar. Voila.
Fantastic starter (5/5) Dec 4, 2011 Erika naegelin San antonio Tx US
  I bought this and then went on vacation, stored in the fridge while I was out. I returned and started the process of feeding. Less than 24 hours after my first feeding it was already bubbling. I can't wait to make me some bread!
Great stuff! (5/5) Oct 25, 2011 Doug Ft. Lauderdale FL
  I'm a big fan of San Fransisco sourdough bread. I revived the starter and made probably the best loaf of bread I've ever made a week later. I've been baking bread on and off for over 25 years and I could never get the crumb/crust/taste like I wanted. I've been making a loaf a week for almost 6 months. The bread lasts almost a week (if no one eats it up) because of the sour culture- never any mold - and I don't refrigerate. Don't bother trying to make a starter- you may get something but who knows what? It probably won't be very good. The price and shipping at Breadtopia is very reasonable. Highly recommended. The book- 52 Loaves- very helpful also.

Back to previous page

1 2