Sourdough Starter - Live reviews

Global Rating: 5.00 from 13 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2
rating title date name city state/province country
Excellent..! (5/5) Mar 28, 2011 Tom Y huntsville al US
  My first try at sourdough, and within 2 weeks, I've made excellent sourdough bread with your starter. Just wish I could be available during the week to make more without tossing out some of the excess starter...seems such a waste for such good basis..! And even using the no-knead process..WOW! Seems like I'm cheating, but won't tell the wife 'n kids, until I can convince them to take over the duty! Thanks Eric for your work and videos - makes it really easy!
Best, Tom.
100% great product (5/5) Nov 25, 2013 linda James Salt spring Island BC CA
  I agree with everyone. Great live starter & is ready to use much sooner than the dried starter I bought elsewhere. I am in Canada so wasn't sure how well it would do shipping this far but it was up & running in a few hours. Thanks so much for great product!
_________It's Alive!_________ (5/5) Apr 10, 2011 Teresa Shingle Springs CA US
  I purchased this from Breadtopia and it arrived quickly. It looks smushed but I carefully squeezed the thick sour smelling dough out and followed the directions on the package. Day 3: it is so clear to see, that this dough is alive.... bubbly and clearly on a path to becoming delicious bread, pizza dough and other delicious things in the future.

I think this dough is much better than the dried granular starter that is offered at stores and online. I would recommend this product to friends and family. Making sourdough starter is easy. I am looking forward to becoming a really good bread baker AND serving fresh from the oven - warm bread topped with real butter ---- to my family and friends.

OVERALL RATING of seller and product: A+
Live is the way to go! (5/5) Apr 4, 2011 Charles Wilson Newington CT US
  Being overly cautious, I bought this live starter, and a dry starter from elsewhere. Continuing to be overly cautious, I used only half of the live starter to build up both a white and whole wheat "mother". Within less than a week both batches were quite vigorous. (No longer needing to keep the other half of the original live starter, I threw caution into the wind and discarded it.)

The dry yeast, from elsewhere, took almost a week to show any signs of life. After more than two weeks, it became usable in recipes, and only after three weeks did it become vigorous.

Live yeast will get you up and running much sooner!
Great stuff! (5/5) Oct 25, 2011 Doug Ft. Lauderdale FL
  I'm a big fan of San Fransisco sourdough bread. I revived the starter and made probably the best loaf of bread I've ever made a week later. I've been baking bread on and off for over 25 years and I could never get the crumb/crust/taste like I wanted. I've been making a loaf a week for almost 6 months. The bread lasts almost a week (if no one eats it up) because of the sour culture- never any mold - and I don't refrigerate. Don't bother trying to make a starter- you may get something but who knows what? It probably won't be very good. The price and shipping at Breadtopia is very reasonable. Highly recommended. The book- 52 Loaves- very helpful also.
The Smarter Starter! (5/5) Feb 3, 2012 Hoobie Iowa City IA US
  Wonderful livliness. I had bubbling starter a few hours after the first feeding. If you want to get started baking quickly, this is a great choice.

One hint: Instead of trying to spoon the starter out, I just ripped the little ziplock bag open at the seams, pealed the starter off the plastic - it's sticky enough to stay together in 1 piece - and dropped it in my starter jar. Voila.
Fantastic (5/5) Feb 7, 2014 Monika Minneapolis Mn US
  I have received my started on Monday and baked my first bread this morning. The results were great! Thank you so much.
Makes Great Sourdough (5/5) Oct 15, 2010 Bob East Windsor NJ US
  Recieved about 10 days ago, fed it per the instructions , baked first loaf today. Excellent taste, tangy but not too sour. Probably the best sourdough I have had.
One suggestion; the starter arrives in a small ziplock and is very sticky. Instructions are to spoon it out. Instead I added the water to the bag, kneaded it a while, snipped off a corner and squeezed it out like a pastry bag into a crock, then fed it the flour. I believe I wasted a lot less starter that way and avoided a gooey mess.
Alive and Vigorous (5/5) Jul 3, 2011 Robert Ryan Columbus Oh US
  I was absolutely amazed by how vigorous this starter is. I fed it the evening that I received it using the provided instructions. After 24 hours, the starter was beautifully foamy and had the wonderful aroma I have come to expect from a great starter. It is so alive that it nearly doubled on its third feeding, for which I used equal weights of water and bread flour. Two more feedings, and I will bake bread!

I usually make my own starter, but when we moved to our current property, my starter was destroyed in the move. Buying live starter was a great way to get up and baking again quickly.
It's spreading ! (5/5) May 10, 2011 Dick Minor Newberg OR US
  "Congratulations ***. Dick is really the one who started this bread making frenzy and order the first portion of starter. My kids are making it, I'm making it, and now we have it spreading to California. Great."

This is note from my brother to a CA cousin. This starter is really moving around the country !

Back to previous page

1 2