Sourdough Starter - Live reviews

Global Rating: 5.00 from 14 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2
rating title date name city state/province country
_________It's Alive!_________ (5/5) Apr 10, 2011 Teresa Shingle Springs CA US
  I purchased this from Breadtopia and it arrived quickly. It looks smushed but I carefully squeezed the thick sour smelling dough out and followed the directions on the package. Day 3: it is so clear to see, that this dough is alive.... bubbly and clearly on a path to becoming delicious bread, pizza dough and other delicious things in the future.

I think this dough is much better than the dried granular starter that is offered at stores and online. I would recommend this product to friends and family. Making sourdough starter is easy. I am looking forward to becoming a really good bread baker AND serving fresh from the oven - warm bread topped with real butter ---- to my family and friends.

OVERALL RATING of seller and product: A+
YEP, GREAT STUFF! (5/5) Mar 11, 2013 tanya springfield va US
  tried several times unsuccessfully over 35 years to make my own starter and tried once with a dried powder from san francisco. this live starter is the way to go for easy, easy sourdough baking. i think it was ready to use within the first 24 hours, tho i waited 3 days. bread: soft crumb, chewy crust--and EXACTLY the taste and aroma of the bread i remember on the wharf in san francisco. i dried the goo stuck to the little plastic bag it arrived in and put it in the freezer--betcha if i ever need it, it will revive! and if not, i know where to find his brother--or is that the rest of himself? h-m-m.
Very Happy (5/5) Jan 17, 2011 Tamara Robson Elgin SC US
  Thank you for making this starter available. I received it about 2 weeks ago and it came to life almost immediately. I am now making the best bread I've ever tasted thanks to Breadtopia (videos), the sourdough starter and my Romertopf. I've not worked with sourdough much before because I never had the kind of success I was looking for. Now I am having amazing success!
The Smarter Starter! (5/5) Feb 3, 2012 Hoobie Iowa City IA US
  Wonderful livliness. I had bubbling starter a few hours after the first feeding. If you want to get started baking quickly, this is a great choice.

One hint: Instead of trying to spoon the starter out, I just ripped the little ziplock bag open at the seams, pealed the starter off the plastic - it's sticky enough to stay together in 1 piece - and dropped it in my starter jar. Voila.
Makes Great Sourdough (5/5) Oct 15, 2010 Bob East Windsor NJ US
  Recieved about 10 days ago, fed it per the instructions , baked first loaf today. Excellent taste, tangy but not too sour. Probably the best sourdough I have had.
One suggestion; the starter arrives in a small ziplock and is very sticky. Instructions are to spoon it out. Instead I added the water to the bag, kneaded it a while, snipped off a corner and squeezed it out like a pastry bag into a crock, then fed it the flour. I believe I wasted a lot less starter that way and avoided a gooey mess.
Live is the way to go! (5/5) Apr 4, 2011 Charles Wilson Newington CT US
  Being overly cautious, I bought this live starter, and a dry starter from elsewhere. Continuing to be overly cautious, I used only half of the live starter to build up both a white and whole wheat "mother". Within less than a week both batches were quite vigorous. (No longer needing to keep the other half of the original live starter, I threw caution into the wind and discarded it.)

The dry yeast, from elsewhere, took almost a week to show any signs of life. After more than two weeks, it became usable in recipes, and only after three weeks did it become vigorous.

Live yeast will get you up and running much sooner!
It's spreading ! (5/5) May 10, 2011 Dick Minor Newberg OR US
  "Congratulations ***. Dick is really the one who started this bread making frenzy and order the first portion of starter. My kids are making it, I'm making it, and now we have it spreading to California. Great."

This is note from my brother to a CA cousin. This starter is really moving around the country !

Great stuff! (5/5) Oct 25, 2011 Doug Ft. Lauderdale FL
  I'm a big fan of San Fransisco sourdough bread. I revived the starter and made probably the best loaf of bread I've ever made a week later. I've been baking bread on and off for over 25 years and I could never get the crumb/crust/taste like I wanted. I've been making a loaf a week for almost 6 months. The bread lasts almost a week (if no one eats it up) because of the sour culture- never any mold - and I don't refrigerate. Don't bother trying to make a starter- you may get something but who knows what? It probably won't be very good. The price and shipping at Breadtopia is very reasonable. Highly recommended. The book- 52 Loaves- very helpful also.
Great (5/5) May 27, 2014 Roger Hartwell Bloomington In US
  Fantastic. Great price, fast shipping. Solid Starter. Amazing bread. This starter is very active compared to others I have tried. More than once I've had it bubble over the top of my jar by mistake. I've never once had my old starter bubble over.
Fantastic starter (5/5) Dec 4, 2011 Erika naegelin San antonio Tx US
  I bought this and then went on vacation, stored in the fridge while I was out. I returned and started the process of feeding. Less than 24 hours after my first feeding it was already bubbling. I can't wait to make me some bread!

Back to previous page

1 2