Sourdough Starter - Live reviews

Global Rating: 5.00 from 13 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2
rating title date name city state/province country
Alive and Vigorous (5/5) Jul 3, 2011 Robert Ryan Columbus Oh US
  I was absolutely amazed by how vigorous this starter is. I fed it the evening that I received it using the provided instructions. After 24 hours, the starter was beautifully foamy and had the wonderful aroma I have come to expect from a great starter. It is so alive that it nearly doubled on its third feeding, for which I used equal weights of water and bread flour. Two more feedings, and I will bake bread!

I usually make my own starter, but when we moved to our current property, my starter was destroyed in the move. Buying live starter was a great way to get up and baking again quickly.
Makes Great Sourdough (5/5) Oct 15, 2010 Bob East Windsor NJ US
  Recieved about 10 days ago, fed it per the instructions , baked first loaf today. Excellent taste, tangy but not too sour. Probably the best sourdough I have had.
One suggestion; the starter arrives in a small ziplock and is very sticky. Instructions are to spoon it out. Instead I added the water to the bag, kneaded it a while, snipped off a corner and squeezed it out like a pastry bag into a crock, then fed it the flour. I believe I wasted a lot less starter that way and avoided a gooey mess.
Very Happy (5/5) Jan 17, 2011 Tamara Robson Elgin SC US
  Thank you for making this starter available. I received it about 2 weeks ago and it came to life almost immediately. I am now making the best bread I've ever tasted thanks to Breadtopia (videos), the sourdough starter and my Romertopf. I've not worked with sourdough much before because I never had the kind of success I was looking for. Now I am having amazing success!
Great stuff! (5/5) Oct 25, 2011 Doug Ft. Lauderdale FL
  I'm a big fan of San Fransisco sourdough bread. I revived the starter and made probably the best loaf of bread I've ever made a week later. I've been baking bread on and off for over 25 years and I could never get the crumb/crust/taste like I wanted. I've been making a loaf a week for almost 6 months. The bread lasts almost a week (if no one eats it up) because of the sour culture- never any mold - and I don't refrigerate. Don't bother trying to make a starter- you may get something but who knows what? It probably won't be very good. The price and shipping at Breadtopia is very reasonable. Highly recommended. The book- 52 Loaves- very helpful also.
Excellent..! (5/5) Mar 28, 2011 Tom Y huntsville al US
  My first try at sourdough, and within 2 weeks, I've made excellent sourdough bread with your starter. Just wish I could be available during the week to make more without tossing out some of the excess starter...seems such a waste for such good basis..! And even using the no-knead process..WOW! Seems like I'm cheating, but won't tell the wife 'n kids, until I can convince them to take over the duty! Thanks Eric for your work and videos - makes it really easy!
Best, Tom.
The Smarter Starter! (5/5) Feb 3, 2012 Hoobie Iowa City IA US
  Wonderful livliness. I had bubbling starter a few hours after the first feeding. If you want to get started baking quickly, this is a great choice.

One hint: Instead of trying to spoon the starter out, I just ripped the little ziplock bag open at the seams, pealed the starter off the plastic - it's sticky enough to stay together in 1 piece - and dropped it in my starter jar. Voila.
Fantastic (5/5) Feb 7, 2014 Monika Minneapolis Mn US
  I have received my started on Monday and baked my first bread this morning. The results were great! Thank you so much.
It's spreading ! (5/5) May 10, 2011 Dick Minor Newberg OR US
  "Congratulations ***. Dick is really the one who started this bread making frenzy and order the first portion of starter. My kids are making it, I'm making it, and now we have it spreading to California. Great."

This is note from my brother to a CA cousin. This starter is really moving around the country !

Live is the way to go! (5/5) Apr 4, 2011 Charles Wilson Newington CT US
  Being overly cautious, I bought this live starter, and a dry starter from elsewhere. Continuing to be overly cautious, I used only half of the live starter to build up both a white and whole wheat "mother". Within less than a week both batches were quite vigorous. (No longer needing to keep the other half of the original live starter, I threw caution into the wind and discarded it.)

The dry yeast, from elsewhere, took almost a week to show any signs of life. After more than two weeks, it became usable in recipes, and only after three weeks did it become vigorous.

Live yeast will get you up and running much sooner!
100% great product (5/5) Nov 25, 2013 linda James Salt spring Island BC CA
  I agree with everyone. Great live starter & is ready to use much sooner than the dried starter I bought elsewhere. I am in Canada so wasn't sure how well it would do shipping this far but it was up & running in a few hours. Thanks so much for great product!

Back to previous page

1 2