Sourdough Starter - Live reviews

Global Rating: 5.00 from 15 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2
rating title date name city state/province country
The best! (5/5) Aug 9, 2014 Trish Port Orchard Wa US
  I received your fresh starter a week or two ago and after feeding it a few times I've been baking the best sourdough bread I ever have. My husband told me last night "this is the best bread you've ever made! " I totally agree! It already has a decent sour taste and the oven spring is very good. I wish I could figure out how to include a photo since I've just taken a beautiful boule out of the oven! Thank You!
Great (5/5) May 27, 2014 Roger Hartwell Bloomington In US
  Fantastic. Great price, fast shipping. Solid Starter. Amazing bread. This starter is very active compared to others I have tried. More than once I've had it bubble over the top of my jar by mistake. I've never once had my old starter bubble over.
Fantastic (5/5) Feb 7, 2014 Monika Minneapolis Mn US
  I have received my started on Monday and baked my first bread this morning. The results were great! Thank you so much.
YEP, GREAT STUFF! (5/5) Mar 11, 2013 tanya springfield va US
  tried several times unsuccessfully over 35 years to make my own starter and tried once with a dried powder from san francisco. this live starter is the way to go for easy, easy sourdough baking. i think it was ready to use within the first 24 hours, tho i waited 3 days. bread: soft crumb, chewy crust--and EXACTLY the taste and aroma of the bread i remember on the wharf in san francisco. i dried the goo stuck to the little plastic bag it arrived in and put it in the freezer--betcha if i ever need it, it will revive! and if not, i know where to find his brother--or is that the rest of himself? h-m-m.
The Smarter Starter! (5/5) Feb 3, 2012 Hoobie Iowa City IA US
  Wonderful livliness. I had bubbling starter a few hours after the first feeding. If you want to get started baking quickly, this is a great choice.

One hint: Instead of trying to spoon the starter out, I just ripped the little ziplock bag open at the seams, pealed the starter off the plastic - it's sticky enough to stay together in 1 piece - and dropped it in my starter jar. Voila.
Fantastic starter (5/5) Dec 4, 2011 Erika naegelin San antonio Tx US
  I bought this and then went on vacation, stored in the fridge while I was out. I returned and started the process of feeding. Less than 24 hours after my first feeding it was already bubbling. I can't wait to make me some bread!
Alive and Vigorous (5/5) Jul 3, 2011 Robert Ryan Columbus Oh US
  I was absolutely amazed by how vigorous this starter is. I fed it the evening that I received it using the provided instructions. After 24 hours, the starter was beautifully foamy and had the wonderful aroma I have come to expect from a great starter. It is so alive that it nearly doubled on its third feeding, for which I used equal weights of water and bread flour. Two more feedings, and I will bake bread!

I usually make my own starter, but when we moved to our current property, my starter was destroyed in the move. Buying live starter was a great way to get up and baking again quickly.
It's spreading ! (5/5) May 10, 2011 Dick Minor Newberg OR US
  "Congratulations ***. Dick is really the one who started this bread making frenzy and order the first portion of starter. My kids are making it, I'm making it, and now we have it spreading to California. Great."

This is note from my brother to a CA cousin. This starter is really moving around the country !

_________It's Alive!_________ (5/5) Apr 10, 2011 Teresa Shingle Springs CA US
  I purchased this from Breadtopia and it arrived quickly. It looks smushed but I carefully squeezed the thick sour smelling dough out and followed the directions on the package. Day 3: it is so clear to see, that this dough is alive.... bubbly and clearly on a path to becoming delicious bread, pizza dough and other delicious things in the future.

I think this dough is much better than the dried granular starter that is offered at stores and online. I would recommend this product to friends and family. Making sourdough starter is easy. I am looking forward to becoming a really good bread baker AND serving fresh from the oven - warm bread topped with real butter ---- to my family and friends.

OVERALL RATING of seller and product: A+
Live is the way to go! (5/5) Apr 4, 2011 Charles Wilson Newington CT US
  Being overly cautious, I bought this live starter, and a dry starter from elsewhere. Continuing to be overly cautious, I used only half of the live starter to build up both a white and whole wheat "mother". Within less than a week both batches were quite vigorous. (No longer needing to keep the other half of the original live starter, I threw caution into the wind and discarded it.)

The dry yeast, from elsewhere, took almost a week to show any signs of life. After more than two weeks, it became usable in recipes, and only after three weeks did it become vigorous.

Live yeast will get you up and running much sooner!

Back to previous page

1 2